Hypolaena exsulca R.Br.

Prodr. 251 (1810)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Dioecious rhizomatous, tussocky perennial, herb, 0.25-0.75 m high. Fl. brown/other, Sep to Dec. Grey or black sand. Sometimes in winter-wet depressions.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 31 October 1993

Scientific Description

Rhizomes spreading, hairy. Basal sheath glabrous, glossy, striate. Culms terete, internal structure (at base of culm) solid, glabrous, not striate, not marbled, not fasciculate. Culm 190-630 mm long. Sheaths (including blade) appressed throughout, dull, not striate, hairy or glabrous, margins translucent. Apex elongated, glabrous. Dioecious (with separate male and female plants). Male and female inflorescences similar, posture (male inflorescences only) Distinctly drooping, Culms unbranched below the inflorescence. Male spikelet 6.5-10 mm long. Subtending bract glabrous, Outer bract 2.7-3.5 mm long, margins thin and translucent, Apex acute. Perianth glabrous. 2-2.5 mm long. Inner bract glabrous, margins firm and opaque, Apex acute. Inner bract 2.7-3 mm long. Filament 0-0.2 mm long. Anther 0.6-0.8 mm long. Female spikelet 10-15 mm long. Subtending bract glabrous, margins firm and opaque, Apex acute. Outer bract 9.5-12 mm long. Perianth glabrous. 8-10 mm long. Inner bracts 6.5-10 mm long, glabrous, margins firm and opaque, Apex acute. Style one, arising centrally from the ovary apex. 9-10.5 mm long. Fruit indehiscent (nut). Flowering Time September, October, November or December. Botanical Province South-West, IBRA Bioregions Geraldton Sandplain, Swan Coastal Plain, Avon Wheatbelt, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Warren or Esperance.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 1 September 2017


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Esperance Plains, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Swan Coastal Plain, Warren.
IBRA Subregions
Dandaragan Plateau, Eastern Mallee, Fitzgerald, Geraldton Hills, Katanning, Lesueur Sandplain, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Recherche, Southern Jarrah Forest, Warren, Western Mallee.
IMCRA Regions
Leeuwin-Naturaliste, WA South Coast.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Albany, Armadale, Augusta Margaret River, Bayswater, Belmont, Beverley, Boddington, Boyup Brook, Bridgetown-Greenbushes, Broomehill-Tambellup, Bunbury, Busselton, Canning, Capel, Carnamah, Chapman Valley, Chittering, Cockburn, Collie, Coorow, Cranbrook, Dandaragan, Dardanup, Denmark, Donnybrook-Balingup, Esperance, Gingin, Gnowangerup, Gosnells, Harvey, Jerramungup, Kalamunda, Kent, Kojonup, Kwinana, Mandurah, Manjimup, Melville, Moora, Mundaring, Murray, Nannup, Narrogin, Northam, Northampton, Perth, Plantagenet, Ravensthorpe, Rockingham, Serpentine-Jarrahdale, South Perth, Stirling, Swan, Wagin, Wanneroo, Waroona, West Arthur, Williams, York.