Cajanus pubescens (Ewart & Morrison) Maesen

Agric.Univ.Wageningen Pap. 85-4:164 (1986)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Erect or spreading shrub, 0.3-2 m high. Fl. yellow, Mar to Aug or Oct. Sandy skeletal soils on sandstone or quartzite. Stony watercourses. sandplains, rocky hillslopes.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 28 May 1996

Scientific Description

Prostrate,spreading or scrambling, shrub, spindly shrub (broom-like). Stems terete, not spiny, hairy; pustules or glands absent. Leaves or phylloclades clearly present, compound, alternate, not continuous with stem, 35-80 mm long, hairy, with simple hairs, flat with flat margins; margins entire; tubercles absent, pinnately arranged, terminal leaflet present, stalked; pustules or glands absent. Stipules present and persistent to older leaves. Pedicel present, 4-5 mm long, hairy. Bracteoles absent. Calyx 7-8.5 mm long, not accrescent, hairy, with simple hairs, ribless; pustules or glands absent. Corolla 12-16 mm long, uniformly coloured, yellow; claws absent; standard 11-15 mm long, glabrous, not auriculate, wings 11-13 mm long, auriculate, keel 12-13.5 mm long, not beaked, not auriculate, glabrous. Stamens ten; anthers 0.9-1.5 mm long, at two different levels (filaments alternately long and short); filaments united in an open sheath with one free stamen, 11-14 mm long. Ovary stipitate, hairy or glandular; style 13-16 mm long, hairy or glandular towards the base, not bearded, terete. Fruit dehiscent (a pod or follicle), 26 mm long, 9 mm wide, sessile or subsessile, constricted between the seeds, flat or compressed, hairy, with simple hairs, not beaked. Flowers in March, April, May, June, July, August and October. Occurs in the Northern and Eremaean Botanical Province, in the Pilbara, Gascoyne, Northern Kimberley, Victoria Bonaparte, Central Kimberley, Ord-Victorian-Plain, Tanami and Dampierland IBRA regions.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 4 December 2020


IBRA Regions
Central Kimberley, Dampierland, Gascoyne, Northern Kimberley, Ord Victoria Plain, Pilbara, Tanami, Victoria Bonaparte.
IBRA Subregions
Ashburton, Berkeley, Chichester, Fitzroy Trough, Hamersley, Hart, Keep, Mitchell, Pentecost, Purnululu, Roebourne, Tanami Desert.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Ashburton, Derby-West Kimberley, East Pilbara, Halls Creek, Karratha, Port Hedland, Wyndham-East Kimberley.