Hypolaena pubescens (R.Br.) Nees
Lehm., Pl.Preiss. 2:69 (1846)

Conservation Code: Not threatened
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Amanda Spooner, Tuesday 21 October 1997

Rhizomatous, perennial, herb (sedge-like), 0.15-1 m high. Fl. Jan to Mar or Jun. White or grey/black sand. Winter-wet flats, swampy depressions.


Beard’s Provinces: South-West Province.

IBRA Regions: Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Swan Coastal Plain, Warren.

IBRA Subregions: Lesueur Sandplain, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Southern Jarrah Forest, Warren.

IMCRA Regions: WA South Coast.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Albany, Armadale, Augusta Margaret River, Belmont, Bunbury, Busselton, Canning, Capel, Cockburn, Dandaragan, Denmark, Gosnells, Manjimup, Murray, Nannup, Rockingham, South Perth, Swan, Wandering, Wanneroo.

Scientific Description
C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, Friday 1 September 2017

Rhizomes tufted, glabrous. Basal sheath glabrous or tuft of hair at apex, glossy, striate. Culms terete, internal structure (at base of culm) hollow, hairy, striate, not marbled, not fasciculate. Culm 200-810 mm long. Sheaths (including blade) appressed throughout, dull, striate, glabrous, margins not translucent. Apex elongated, glabrous. Dioecious (with separate male and female plants). Male and female inflorescences distinctly dissimilar, posture (male inflorescences only) Distinctly drooping, Culms branched below the inflorescence. Male spikelet 2.8-5 mm long. Subtending bract glabrous, Outer bract 1.8-2.4 mm long, margins thin and translucent, Apex acuminate to attenuate. Perianth glabrous. 1.2-2.2 mm long. Inner bract glabrous, margins thin and translucent, Apex acute. Inner bract 1.5-2.2 mm long. Filament 1.2-2 mm long. Anther 0.5-0.9 mm long. Female spikelet 6.5-9.5 mm long. Subtending bract hairy, margins firm and opaque, Apex acuminate to attenuate. Outer bract 5-6 mm long. Perianth glabrous. 4-4.5 mm long. Inner bracts 5-5.5 mm long, hairy, margins firm and opaque, Apex acuminate to attenuate. Style one, arising centrally from the ovary apex. 5-6 mm long. Fruit indehiscent (nut). Flowering Time January, February, March, April, May or June. Botanical Province South-West, IBRA Bioregions Geraldton Sandplain, Swan Coastal Plain, Jarrah Forest or Warren.