Hypolaena humilis (Gilg.) B.G.Briggs & L.A.S.Johnson
Telopea 8:28 (1998)

Conservation Code: Not threatened
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Amanda Spooner, Tuesday 21 October 1997

Rhizomatous, perennial, herb (rush-like), 0.15-0.6 m high. Fl. brown-red, Aug to Nov. White or grey sand, clay, often saline. Winter-wet swamps, coastal dunes, salt lakes.


Beard’s Provinces: South-West Province.

IBRA Regions: Avon Wheatbelt, Esperance Plains, Jarrah Forest, Mallee.

IBRA Subregions: Avon Wheatbelt P1, Avon Wheatbelt P2, Eastern Mallee, Fitzgerald, Recherche, Southern Jarrah Forest, Western Mallee.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Albany, Cranbrook, Cunderdin, Esperance, Gnowangerup, Jerramungup, Kent, Kondinin, Lake Grace, Plantagenet, Ravensthorpe, Wongan-Ballidu.

Scientific Description
C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, Friday 1 September 2017

Rhizomes spreading, glabrous. Basal sheath glabrous, dull, striate. Culms terete, internal structure (at base of culm) hollow in upper part, glabrous, striate, not marbled, not fasciculate. Culm 100-510 mm long. Sheaths (including blade) appressed throughout, dull, striate, glabrous, margins not translucent. Apex finely pointed, glabrous. Dioecious (with separate male and female plants). Male and female inflorescences similar, posture (male inflorescences only) Distinctly drooping, Culms unbranched below the inflorescence. Male spikelet 4-5.2 mm long. Subtending bract glabrous, Outer bract 2.8-4 mm long, margins thin and translucent, Apex acute. Perianth glabrous. 1.8-2 mm long. Inner bract glabrous, margins thin and translucent, Apex acute. Inner bract 3-3.5 mm long. Filament 0-0.2 mm long. Anther 1-1.2 mm long. Female spikelet 4-4.5 mm long. Subtending bract glabrous, margins thin and translucent, Apex acute. Outer bract 2-3 mm long. Perianth glabrous. Inner bracts 1.5-1.8 mm long, glabrous, margins thin and translucent, Apex acute. Style three (or three-branched). 2.5-3.5 mm long. Fruit indehiscent (nut). Flowering Time August, September, October or November. Botanical Province South-West, IBRA Bioregions Avon Wheatbelt, Jarrah Forest, Mallee or Esperance.