Lepyrodia curvescens B.G.Briggs & L.A.S.Johnson

Telopea 14:19, Figs 2g-h, 3f (2012)
Conservation Code
Priority Two
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Dioecious, shortly creeping, tufted rhizomatous, herb, 0.24-0.4 m high, rhizomes on surface or to 1 cm deep. Fl. Sep to Nov. Sand, laterite. Seasonally inundated swampland.

Amanda Spooner, Descriptive Catalogue, 1 February 2000

Scientific Description

Rhizomes tufted, glabrous. Basal sheath glabrous, dull, striate. Culms terete, internal structure (at base of culm) hollow in upper part, glabrous, not striate, not marbled, not fasciculate. Culm 160-320 mm long. Sheaths (including blade) spreading, dull, striate, hairy, margins translucent. Apex elongated or recurved, glabrous. Dioecious (with separate male and female plants). Male and female inflorescences similar, posture (male inflorescences only) More or less erect, Culms unbranched below the inflorescence. Male spikelet 4.5-7 mm long. Subtending bract glabrous, Outer bract 2.3-3 mm long, margins firm and opaque, Apex acuminate to attenuate. Perianth glabrous. 4-4.5 mm long. Inner bract glabrous, margins firm and opaque, Apex acuminate to attenuate. Inner bract 3.6-4 mm long. Filament 2-2.7 mm long. Anther 2-2.6 mm long. Female spikelet 4-7 mm long. Subtending bract glabrous, margins thin and translucent, Apex acuminate to attenuate. Outer bract 3.5-4.5 mm long. Perianth glabrous. 3-3.5 mm long. Inner bracts 3-4.2 mm long, glabrous, margins thin and translucent, Apex acuminate to attenuate. Style three (or three-branched). 3-3.2 mm long. Fruit trilocular (capsule). Flowering Time September, October or November. Botanical Province South-West, IBRA Bioregions Geraldton Sandplain, Swan Coastal Plain or Jarrah Forest. Conservation Code Priority Two (P2).

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 1 September 2017


IBRA Regions
Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Swan Coastal Plain.
IBRA Subregions
Lesueur Sandplain, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Boddington, Coorow, Dandaragan, Gingin, Gosnells, Murray, Swan, Victoria Plains.