Grevillea kirkalocka Olde & Marriott
Nuytsia 15:93-96,Fig.2 (2002)

Conservation Code: Priority One
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Amanda Spooner, Wednesday 20 August 2003

Low, spreading to decumbent shrub, to 1 m high. Fl. red, Aug to Sep. Yellow sand with some ironstone or laterite gravel. Base of sandhill, beside track.


Beard’s Provinces: Eremaean Province.

IBRA Regions: Murchison.

IBRA Subregions: Eastern Murchison.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Mount Magnet.

Scientific Description
Chris Hollister and Nicholas S. Lander, Tuesday 8 April 2008

Habit and leaf form. Shrubs, 0.5–1 m high. Branchlets not glaucous. Leaves simple, 40–60 mm long overall. Leaf blade dissected, subpinnatisect, not further divided or bipinnatisect. Leaf lobes 10–25 mm long, 1–1.5 mm wide. Margins revolute, enclosing the lower surface of the leaf blade, forming two grooves with the midvein. Hairs straight.

Inflorescence and floral features. Inflorescence terminal; a raceme. Flowers red, very irregular. Pedicel 4–4.5 mm long. Perianth 8–9 mm long, simple-hairy, 4 -partite; lobes all free. Stamens 4. Pistil 23–25 mm long, stipitate; stipe 0.5–1 mm long. Ovary hairy. Styles glabrous, red. Pollen presenter lateral, or oblique.

Fruit features. Fruit smooth, oblong or ellipsoidal, glabrous, not viscid, 11–12 mm long.

Flowering Time. July, or August, or September.

Habitat. Amongst tall (sclerophyll) shrubland, or low (sclerophyll) shrubland; in gravelly soil, or sand; occupying heathland.

Distribution. Western Australia. Western Australian Botanical Province(s): Eremaean; IBRA Bioregions ER: YAL. Western Australian native; endemic to Western Australia.

Etymology. kirkalocka: Named after the station on which this species was found and as a mark of respect for the proprietors who have a progressive conservation ethic. The epithet is used as a noun in apposition and is indeclinable.

Descriptions were generated using DELTA format and DELTA software: Dallwitz (1980) and Dallwitz, Paine and Zurcher (1993 onwards, 1995 onwards, 1998)