Petrophile serruriae R.Br.
Suppl.Prodr.Fl.Nov.Holl. 6 (1830)

Conservation Code: Not threatened
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Grazyna Paczkowska, Wednesday 23 August 1995

Prickly, erect or spreading, non-lignotuberus shrub, 0.2-1.5(-2.5) m high. Fl. yellow/cream-other/pink, Jul to Dec. Sandy and/or gravelly soils, laterite, clay. Coastal limestone, sandplains, low hills, sand ridges.


Beard’s Provinces: South-West Province.

IBRA Regions: Avon Wheatbelt, Esperance Plains, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Swan Coastal Plain.

IBRA Subregions: Avon Wheatbelt P2, Dandaragan Plateau, Fitzgerald, Geraldton Hills, Lesueur Sandplain, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Southern Jarrah Forest.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Albany, Armadale, Augusta Margaret River, Beverley, Boddington, Boyup Brook, Brookton, Broomehill-Tambellup, Busselton, Carnamah, Chittering, Collie, Coorow, Cranbrook, Cuballing, Dandaragan, Denmark, Gingin, Gnowangerup, Irwin, Katanning, Kojonup, Moora, Murray, Narrogin, Northam, Pingelly, Plantagenet, Serpentine-Jarrahdale, Three Springs, Toodyay, Victoria Plains, Wagin, Wandering, West Arthur, Williams, Woodanilling, York.

Scientific Description
C. Hollister, N.S. Lander and K.R. Thiele, Tuesday 11 February 2020

Shrubs, 1-3 m high; branchlets hairy, with straight hairs. Leaves alternate, 15-35 mm mm long, glabrous; lamina terete, twice or more divided, pinnately divided, divided to the midrib, with (16-)27-35(-43) points or lobes; distance from base of leaf to lowest lobe 2-10 mm. Inflorescences not viscid, white, yellow or pink. Perianth 15-23 mm long, hairy, the limb apex hairy all over; pistil 15-22 mm long; pollen presenter fusiform, hairy, 3-4.5 mm long. Cone with persistent scales, 10-12 mm long. Flowers in July, August, September, October, November or December. Occurs in the South-west (SW) Botanical Province(s), in the Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Swan Coastal Plain (SWA), Avon Wheatbelt (AW), Jarrah Forest (JF) or Esperance Plains (ESP) IBRA subregion(s).