Triumfetta clementii (Domin) Rye

Nuytsia 9:417 (1994)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Erect, spreading shrub, 0.15-0.6(-2) m high. Fl. yellow, Mar to May or Jul to Oct. Stony clay or loam, sandy loam, coarse shelly sand. Rocky hillsides, colluvial flats, creek & river beds.

Amanda Spooner, Descriptive Catalogue, 7 October 1997

Scientific Description

Shrub. Stems hairy. Leaves 15-95 mm long, 8-35 mm wide, not lobed; margins crenate; indumentum present, with non-tubercle-based simple hairs, with stellate hairs; stipules present but early deciduous (only visible on youngest leaves), 9-14 mm long. Perianth clearly of two whorls (calyx and corolla), the corolla obvious and prominent. Pedicel present, 2-2.7 mm long; indumentum present, with simple hairs, with stellate hairs. Epicalyx (extra segments or 'bracteoles' immediately below the calyx) absent. Calyx 3.6-4.8 mm long, the lobes fused less than half their length, simple hairs (without tubercle bases) present, stellate hairs present, Terminal appendages present. Corolla yellow, 3-4.5 mm long, glabrous. Stamens many, free and inserted at the base of the ovary; filaments present, 2.2-3 mm long; anthers 0.5-0.6 mm long. Ovary hairs or scales present, simple hairs present; style 1, with a lobed or capitate stigma, 3-3.2 mm long, with one style branches or lobes, mostly glabrous. Fruits indehiscent and not splitting into sections (drupes), length-width ratio more or less as long as wide, hairs or scales present, stellate hairs present; apex rounded; prickles present, abundantly covering the fruit; calyx persistent to mature fruit, not accrescent. Flowering time March, April, May, July, August, September or October. Distribution Botanical Province Eremaean, IBRA Bioregion Great Sandy Desert, Pilbara, Carnarvon or Gascoyne.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 15 January 2020


IBRA Regions
Carnarvon, Gascoyne, Great Sandy Desert, Pilbara.
IBRA Subregions
Ashburton, Cape Range, Chichester, Hamersley, McLarty, Roebourne.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Ashburton, East Pilbara, Exmouth, Karratha, Port Hedland.