Grevillea acuaria Benth.
Fl.Austral. 5:421, 452 (1870)

Conservation Code: Not threatened
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Grazyna Paczkowska, Thursday 3 August 1995

Divaricately branched shrub, 0.3-1.5 m high. Fl. red, Jan or Apr to Oct. Loam, clay loam, lateritic gravel or granite.


Beard’s Provinces: Eremaean Province, South-West Province.

IBRA Regions: Avon Wheatbelt, Coolgardie, Esperance Plains, Great Victoria Desert, Mallee, Murchison, Nullarbor, Yalgoo.

IBRA Subregions: Avon Wheatbelt P1, Avon Wheatbelt P2, Central, Central band, Nullarbor Plain, Eastern Goldfield, Eastern Mallee, Eastern Murchison, Fitzgerald, Mardabilla, Shield, Southern Cross, Tallering, Western Mallee.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Beverley, Bruce Rock, Coolgardie, Corrigin, Cunderdin, Dalwallinu, Dundas, Esperance, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Kellerberrin, Kent, Kondinin, Koorda, Kulin, Lake Grace, Laverton, Leonora, Menzies, Merredin, Mount Magnet, Mount Marshall, Mukinbudin, Narembeen, Nungarin, Perenjori, Ravensthorpe, Westonia, Wongan-Ballidu, Wyalkatchem, Yilgarn.

Scientific Description
Chris Hollister, Nicholas Lander and Kevin Thiele, Thursday 7 February 2019

Shrubs, 0.5-1 m high; branchlets glabrous or hairy, not glaucous. Leaves alternate, 10-20 mm mm long, 0.5-2 mm mm wide, hairy, on the abaxial surface, the hairs straight; lamina subterete or flat, more or less the same width throughout, entire, the margins revolute, enclosing the lower surface of the leaf blade, forming a groove either side of the midvein. Inflorescences axillary or terminal, red; pedicels 4-5 mm long. Perianth 10-12 mm long; tepals all free after flower opens, glabrous; ovary glabrous, stipitate, the stipe 0.5-2 mm long; pistil 14-18 mm long, green or red, pollen presenter oblique, style glabrous. Follicles glabrous, not viscid, dehiscent, 8-11 mm long. Flowers in May, June, July, August, September or October. Occurs in the Eremaean (ER) or South-west (SW) Botanical Province(s), in the Yalgoo (YAL), Murchison (MUR), Great Victoria Desert (GVD), Coolgardie (COO), Nullarbor (NUL), Avon Wheatbelt (AW), Mallee (MAL) or Esperance Plains (ESP) IBRA subregion(s).