Grevillea eriostachya Lindl.
Flame Grevillea

Sketch Veg.Swan R. 36 (1840)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Small, lignotuberous shrub, (0.5-)1-5 m high. Fl. yellow-orange, Jan to Dec. Yellow or red sand, occasionally white or grey sand. Sandhills, red sand dunes, sandplains.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 8 August 1995

Scientific Description

Shrubs, 1.5-2 m high; branchlets hairy, not glaucous. Leaves alternate, 50-300 mm long, 1-1.5 mm wide, hairy, on the adaxial or abaxial surface, the hairs straight; lamina flat, once divided, pinnately divided, divided to the midrib; lobes 80-200 mm long, 1-2 mm wide, the margins flat or revolute, enclosing the lower surface of the leaf blade, forming a groove either side of the midvein. Inflorescences terminal, green or yellow; pedicels 1.5-4 mm long. Perianth 8-15 mm long; tepals some joined and some free after flower opens, hairy, glandular-hairy or simple-hairy; ovary hairy, sessile; pistil 16-22 mm long, green or yellow, pollen presenter oblique, style hairy. Follicles glandular hairy, not viscid, dehiscent, 15-22 mm long. Flowers in January, February, March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November or December. Occurs in the Northern (N), Eremaean (ER) or South-west (SW) Botanical Province(s), in the Great Sandy Desert (GSD), Tanami (TAN), Pilbara (PIL), Carnarvon (CAR), Gascoyne (GAS), Little Sandy Desert (LSD), Gibson Desert (GD), Central Ranges (CR), Yalgoo (YAL), Murchison (MUR), Great Victoria Desert (GVD), Coolgardie (COO), Dampierland (DL), Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Swan Coastal Plain (SWA) or Esperance Plains (ESP) IBRA subregion(s).

C. Hollister, N.S. Lander and K.R. Thiele, 21 November 2020


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Carnarvon, Central Ranges, Dampierland, Gascoyne, Geraldton Sandplains, Gibson Desert, Great Sandy Desert, Great Victoria Desert, Jarrah Forest, Little Sandy Desert, Mallee, Murchison, Pilbara, Swan Coastal Plain, Tanami, Yalgoo.
IBRA Subregions
Augustus, Cape Range, Central, Chichester, Dandaragan Plateau, Eastern Murchison, Edel, Fortescue, Geraldton Hills, Hamersley, Katanning, Lateritic Plain, Lesueur Sandplain, Mackay, Mann-Musgrave Block, McLarty, Merredin, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Pindanland, Roebourne, Rudall, Tallering, Tanami Desert, Trainor, Western Mallee, Western Murchison, Wooramel.
IMCRA Regions
Central West Coast, Ningaloo.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Ashburton, Beverley, Broome, Bruce Rock, Carnamah, Carnarvon, Chapman Valley, Coorow, Corrigin, Cue, Dalwallinu, Dandaragan, Derby-West Kimberley, Dowerin, East Pilbara, Exmouth, Gingin, Goomalling, Greater Geraldton, Halls Creek, Lake Grace, Laverton, Meekatharra, Mingenew, Moora, Mount Magnet, Murchison, Ngaanyatjarraku, Northampton, Perenjori, Pingelly, Quairading, Shark Bay, Tammin, Upper Gascoyne, Victoria Plains, Westonia, Wiluna, Wongan-Ballidu, Wyalkatchem, Yalgoo, York.