Grevillea tripartita Meisn.
A.DC., Prodr. 15:373 (1856)

Conservation Code: Not threatened
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Amanda Spooner, Tuesday 21 September 1999

Erect, prickly shrub, 0.6-3(-4) m high. Fl. red & yellow, Jan to Mar or May to Dec (mainlyAug-Nov). Sandy to clayey soils.


Beard’s Provinces: South-West Province.

IBRA Regions: Esperance Plains.

IBRA Subregions: Fitzgerald.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Jerramungup, Ravensthorpe.

Scientific Description
Chris Hollister and Nicholas S. Lander, Tuesday 8 April 2008

Habit and leaf form. Shrubs, 1–3 m high. Branchlets not glaucous. Leaves simple, 10–50 mm long overall. Leaf blade dissected, tripartite; shallowly divided; not further divided. Leaf lobes 5–20 mm long, 2–5 mm wide. Margins revolute or recurved, enclosing the lower surface of the leaf blade, forming two grooves with the midvein. Hairs straight.

Inflorescence and floral features. Inflorescence terminal; a raceme. Flowers orange or red, very irregular. Pedicel 8–10 mm long. Perianth 15–20 mm long, glandular-hairy, 4 -partite; lobes all free. Stamens 4. Pistil 40–45 mm long, stipitate; stipe 1.5–3 mm long. Ovary glabrous. Styles glabrous, orange or red. Pollen presenter lateral.

Fruit features. Fruit ribbed or ridged or granulose, ellipsoidal, glabrous, 12–18 mm long.

Flowering Time. July, or August, or September (flowers all year).

Habitat. Amongst medium trees, or tall (sclerophyll) shrubland, or low (sclerophyll) shrubland; in sand, or clay.

Distribution. Western Australia. Western Australian Botanical Province(s): South-west; IBRA Bioregions SW: GS, MAL, and ESP. Western Australian native; endemic to Western Australia.


subsp. macrostylis: Leaf margins recurved exposing most of leaf surface

subsp. tripartita: Leaf margins revolute enclosing most or all leaf surface on either side of midvein.

Etymology. tripartita (L): t. divided into three parts, three-fold.

Descriptions were generated using DELTA format and DELTA software: Dallwitz (1980) and Dallwitz, Paine and Zurcher (1993 onwards, 1995 onwards, 1998)