Hakea ruscifolia Labill. Candle Hakea
Nov.Holl.Pl. 1:30 (1805)

Conservation Code: Not threatened
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Grazyna Paczkowska, Monday 4 September 1995

Lignotuberous shrub, 0.5-3 m high. Fl. white, Dec or Jan to Apr or Jun. White, grey or red/brown sand, gravelly clay, laterite.


Beard’s Provinces: South-West Province.

IBRA Regions: Avon Wheatbelt, Esperance Plains, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Swan Coastal Plain, Warren.

IBRA Subregions: Avon Wheatbelt P2, Dandaragan Plateau, Fitzgerald, Lesueur Sandplain, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Recherche, Southern Jarrah Forest, Warren, Western Mallee.

IMCRA Regions: Central West Coast, Leeuwin-Naturaliste, WA South Coast.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Albany, Armadale, Augusta-Margaret River, Belmont, Beverley, Boddington, Boyup Brook, Bridgetown-Greenbushes, Brookton, Busselton, Cambridge, Canning, Carnamah, Collie, Coorow, Cranbrook, Cuballing, Dandaragan, Denmark, Donnybrook-Balingup, Esperance, Gingin, Gnowangerup, Gosnells, Harvey, Jerramungup, Kalamunda, Kent, Manjimup, Mundaring, Murray, Nannup, Narrogin, Northam, Pingelly, Plantagenet, Ravensthorpe, Serpentine-Jarrahdale, Stirling, Swan, Three Springs, Toodyay, Wandering, Wanneroo, Waroona, West Arthur, Williams, York.

Scientific Description
Chris Hollister, Nicholas Lander and Kevin Thiele, Friday 20 July 2018

Shrubs, 1-3 m high; branchlets hairy. Leaves whorled, 7-50 mm mm long, 2-12 mm mm wide, hairy; lamina flat, clearly widest above the middle, entire. Inflorescences axillary, white; pedicels 6-8 mm long. Perianth 3-4 mm long, glabrous; ovary glabrous; pistil 3-5 mm long, pollen presenter conical, style glabrous. Follicles 15-20 mm long, 7-9 mm wide, corky tetrahedral projections (on external surfaces of fruit) absent; seed 15-18 mm long (including wing), 5-7 mm wide, the wing discontinuous, marginal, extending ± equally down both lateral sides. Flowers in January or December. Occurs in the South-west (SW) Botanical Province(s), in the Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Swan Coastal Plain (SWA), Avon Wheatbelt (AW), Jarrah Forest (JF), Mallee (MAL), Warren (WAR) or Esperance Plains (ESP) IBRA subregion(s).