Hakea stenocarpa R.Br. Narrow-fruited Hakea
Prodr. Suppl. 29 (1830)

Conservation Code: Not threatened
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Grazyna Paczkowska, Monday 4 September 1995

Rounded, lignotuberous shrub, 0.3-1(-2) m high. Fl. white, Sep to Oct. Gravelly sand or clay over laterite.


Beard’s Provinces: South-West Province.

IBRA Regions: Avon Wheatbelt, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Swan Coastal Plain.

IBRA Subregions: Avon Wheatbelt P1, Dandaragan Plateau, Geraldton Hills, Lesueur Sandplain, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Southern Jarrah Forest.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Armadale, Beverley, Boddington, Busselton, Carnamah, Coorow, Dandaragan, Dardanup, Donnybrook-Balingup, Gingin, Gosnells, Greater Geraldton, Irwin, Kalamunda, Koorda, Mingenew, Mundaring, Murray, Northam, Serpentine-Jarrahdale, Toodyay, York.

Scientific Description
Chris Hollister and Nicholas S. Lander, Tuesday 8 April 2008

Habit and leaf form. Shrubs, 1 m high. Leaves alternate, leaves 50–135 mm long overall. Leaf blade 50–135 mm long, 2–8 mm wide, undissected, linear, flat; margins entire; indumentum absent.

Inflorescence and floral features. Inflorescence axillary, racemose. Flowers pedicellate, white. Pedicel 2–4 mm long. Perianth (perigone) 4–5.5 mm long. Pistil 4.4–6 mm long. Pollen presenter conical.

Fruit and seed features. Fruit 25–30 mm long, 6–8 mm wide; corky tetrahedral projections absent; red-brown and pale wood zones absent. Seed 16–17.5 mm long; wing discontinuous, marginal, extending down one lateral side only.

Distribution. Western Australia. IBRA Bioregions SW: GS, SWA, and JF.

Habitat. Amongst medium trees, or tall (sclerophyll) shrubland; in gravelly soil, or sand (lateritic sand); occupying swamps, breakaway ridges.

Flowering Time. September to October.

Etymology. Stenocarpa (Gr.): steno – narrow + carpus – fruit; referring to the narrow fruit of this species.

Descriptions were generated using DELTA format and DELTA software: Dallwitz (1980) and Dallwitz, Paine and Zurcher (1993 onwards, 1995 onwards, 1998)