Petrophile brevifolia Lindl.
Sketch Veg.Swan R. 35 (1840)

Conservation Code: Not threatened
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Grazyna Paczkowska, Tuesday 22 August 1995

Erect, multi-stemmed, non-lignotuberous shrub, 0.2-1(-2) m high. Fl. yellow/cream-white, May to Dec. Grey, yellow or brown sand over laterite or limestone. Sandplains, sometimes swampy areas.


Beard’s Provinces: South-West Province.

IBRA Regions: Avon Wheatbelt, Esperance Plains, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Mallee, Swan Coastal Plain.

IBRA Subregions: Avon Wheatbelt P1, Avon Wheatbelt P2, Dandaragan Plateau, Fitzgerald, Geraldton Hills, Lesueur Sandplain, Northern Jarrah Forest, Perth, Southern Jarrah Forest, Western Mallee.

IMCRA Regions: Central West Coast.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Beverley, Brookton, Bruce Rock, Carnamah, Chapman Valley, Chittering, Coorow, Corrigin, Cuballing, Dandaragan, Dowerin, Dumbleyung, Gingin, Gnowangerup, Goomalling, Greater Geraldton, Irwin, Kellerberrin, Kent, Kojonup, Kulin, Lake Grace, Merredin, Mingenew, Moora, Nedlands, Perth, Pingelly, Quairading, Ravensthorpe, Tammin, Toodyay, Victoria Plains, Wandering, Wanneroo, West Arthur, Wickepin, Williams, Wongan-Ballidu, York.

Scientific Description
Chris Hollister, Nicholas Lander and Kevin Thiele, Thursday 7 February 2019

Shrubs, 1-2 m high; branchlets glabrous. Leaves alternate, 10-70 mm mm long, 1.5-2 mm mm wide, glabrous; lamina terete, entire, straight or curved, smooth, apex pungent, 1-1.5 mm long. Inflorescences not viscid, cream, yellow or pink. Perianth 21-29 mm long, hairy, the limb apex hairy all over; pistil 21-28 mm long; pollen presenter not fusiform, hairy, 4-6 mm long, the brush 2.8-3.2 mm long. Cone with persistent scales, 10-20 mm long. Flowers in May, June, July, August, September, October, November or December. Occurs in the South-west (SW) Botanical Province(s), in the Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Swan Coastal Plain (SWA), Avon Wheatbelt (AW), Jarrah Forest (JF), Mallee (MAL) or Esperance Plains (ESP) IBRA subregion(s).