Gompholobium cinereum Chappill
Austral.Syst.Bot. 21:71-73, Fig. 1 (2008)

Conservation Code: Priority Three
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Amanda Spooner, Thursday 12 April 2007

Shrub, to 0.3 m high. Yellow sand, clayey sand, brown loam, sandy gravel, laterite. Well-drained open sites, slopes, plains, roadsides.


Beard’s Provinces: Eremaean Province, South-West Province.

IBRA Regions: Avon Wheatbelt, Coolgardie, Geraldton Sandplains, Yalgoo.

IBRA Subregions: Avon Wheatbelt P1, Eastern Goldfield, Geraldton Hills, Southern Cross, Tallering.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Coolgardie, Dalwallinu, Greater Geraldton, Mount Marshall, Northampton, Perenjori, Yilgarn.

Scientific Description
C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, Friday 17 January 2020

Erect, shrub, spindly shrub (broom-like). Stems terete, not spiny, hairy; pustules or glands absent. Leaves or phylloclades clearly present, simple, alternate, not continuous with stem, 5-6 mm long, 0.7-1.3 mm wide, hairy, with simple hairs, strongly recurved, appearing terete but with one or two grooves below; tubercles absent; pustules or glands absent. Stipules present and persistent to older leaves. Pedicel present, 5-6 mm long, hairy. Bracteoles present and persistent. Calyx 6-8.5 mm long, not accrescent, hairy, with simple hairs, ribless; pustules or glands absent. Corolla 11-14 mm long, uniformly coloured, purple; claws present; standard 10.5-12 mm long, glabrous, not auriculate, wings 8-9.5 mm long, not auriculate, keel 9-10 mm long, not beaked, not auriculate, glabrous. Stamens ten, at two different levels (filaments alternately long and short); filaments free (or united at the very base). Ovary stipitate, hairy or glandular; style 12-13.5 mm long, hairy or glandular towards the base, not bearded, terete. Fruit dehiscent (a pod or follicle), stipitate, not constricted between the seeds, round in cross-section, not beaked. Flowers in September, October and November. Occurs in the Eremaean and South-West Botanical Province, in the Yalgoo, Coolgardie, Geraldton Sandplains and Avon Wheatbelt IBRA regions. Conservation Code Priority Three (P3).