Sida ectogama W.R.Barker & R.M.Barker

Nuytsia 17:21-25, Figs 1-2 (2007)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Dioecious, twiggy, perennial shrub, 0.3-2 m high. Red-brown sandy loams, banded ironstone, basalt, granite, quartz, jaspilite. Upper slopes, rocky outcrops.

Amanda Spooner, Descriptive Catalogue, 31 March 2008

Scientific Description

Herb or shrub. Stems hairy. Leaves 10-25 mm long, 5-13 mm wide, not lobed; margins entire; indumentum present, with stellate hairs; stipules present and persistent to older leaves or present but early deciduous (only visible on youngest leaves). Perianth clearly of two whorls (calyx and corolla), the corolla obvious and prominent. Pedicel present, 9-13 mm long; indumentum present, with stellate hairs. Epicalyx (extra segments or 'bracteoles' immediately below the calyx) absent. Calyx green, 6.5-9 mm long, the lobes fused half or more of their length, stellate hairs present. Corolla yellow, 5.2-10 mm long, hairs or scales present, stellate hairs present. Stamens many, united and arising from a staminal tube around the style; filaments present, 3.2-6 mm long; anthers 0.4-0.7 mm long. Ovary hairs or scales present, stellate hairs present; style 1, 7-11 mm long, with four or numerous style branches or lobes, mostly glabrous. Fruits indehiscent and splitting into sections (schizocarps), length-width ratio more or less as long as wide, mericarps wrinkled, hairs or scales present, stellate hairs present; apex distinctly flat-topped; calyx persistent to mature fruit, 10-14 mm long, accrescent; carpels 7; seeds per loculus 1. Flowering time August, September or October. Distribution Botanical Province Eremaean, IBRA Bioregion Pilbara, Carnarvon, Gascoyne, Yalgoo, Murchison, Great Victorian Desert or Coolgardie.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 15 January 2020


IBRA Regions
Carnarvon, Coolgardie, Gascoyne, Gibson Desert, Great Victoria Desert, Little Sandy Desert, Murchison, Pilbara, Yalgoo.
IBRA Subregions
Augustus, Carnegie, Central, Eastern Goldfield, Eastern Murchison, Fortescue, Hamersley, Lateritic Plain, Shield, Tallering, Trainor, Western Murchison, Wooramel.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Ashburton, Carnarvon, Cue, East Pilbara, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Laverton, Leonora, Meekatharra, Menzies, Murchison, Ngaanyatjarraku, Sandstone, Upper Gascoyne, Wiluna, Yalgoo.