Parthenocissus quinquefolia Planch.

Monogr.Phan. 5:448 (1887)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Alien to Western Australia
Name Status


IBRA Regions
Swan Coastal Plain.
IBRA Subregions
Dandaragan Plateau, Perth.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Cockburn, Dardanup, Gingin, Melville, Murray.

Management Notes (for the Swan NRM Region)

General Biology. Growth form. Vine. Dispersal. Ants, birds. Vegetative regeneration strategy. coppices/resprouts,stem layering. Seedbank persistence. Soil, short-medium, days- 5 years.

Additional information. Origin. Eastern Asia.

Suggested method of management and control. Hand pull seedlings; scrape and paint stems - 100 % glyphosate; spray regrowth 1.5% glyphosate. Read the manufacturers' labels and material safety data sheets before using herbicides. For further information consult the Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority to determine the status of permits for your situation or state.


  • Brown, K. & Brooks, K. (2002) Bushland Weeds: A Practical Guide to their Management. Environmental Weeds Action Network, Greenwood.
  • Coladonato, M. (1991) Parthenocissus quinquefolia. In Fischer, W.C., compiler. U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, Rocky Mountain Research Station, Fire Sciences Laboratory (2002, April). Fire Effects Information System. URL: - Accessed December 2007.
  • Hussey, B.M.J., Keighery, G.J., Dodd, J., Lloyd, S.G. & Cousens, R.D. (2007) Western Weeds. A guide to the weeds of Western Australia. 2nd Edition. The Plant Protection Society of Western Australia, Victoria Park.
  • Paczkowska, G. & Chapman, A.R. (2000) The Western Australian flora: A descriptive catalogue. Western Australian Wildflower Society (Inc.), Western Australian Herbarium and Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority, Perth.
  • Versfeld, D.B., Le Maitre, D.C., Chapman, R.A., with inputs from Forsyth, G., McKelly, D., Carelse, L., Gelderblom, C. & van Wilgen, B.W. (n.d.) Alien invading plants and water resources in South Africa. Report prepared by the CSIR Division of Water, Environment and Forestry Technology Stellenbosch for the Water Research Commission, Pretoria, South Africa.