Aeschynomene indica L.
Budda Pea

Sp.Pl. 2:713 (1753)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Erect annual or perennial, herb or shrub, 0.2-2 m high. Fl. yellow, Mar to Jun or Aug or Oct. Sandy, loamy & clayey soils. River & creek edges, claypans, low-lying flats.

Amanda Spooner, Descriptive Catalogue, 17 August 2007

Scientific Description

Key to Fabaceae of Western Australia

Authors: Chris Hollister and Kevin Thiele

Erect, shrub, spindly shrub (broom-like). Stems terete, not spiny, glabrous; pustules or glands absent. Leaves or phylloclades clearly present, compound, alternate, not continuous with stem, 90 mm long, glabrous, flat with flat margins; margins entire; tubercles absent, leaflets 23-33, pinnately arranged, terminal leaflet present, stalked; pustules or glands absent. Stipules present and persistent to older leaves, 8-15 mm long, without glands, ribless. Pedicel present, 3.5-5 mm long, glabrous. Bracteoles present and persistent, 3.5-3.8 mm long, hairy, not striate. Calyx 4.8-7 mm long, not accrescent, glabrous, ribless; pustules or glands absent. Corolla 8-10 mm long, multicoloured, mostly yellow or red, with some yellow or red spots, streaks or blotches; claws absent; standard 8.2-10 mm long, glabrous, auriculate, wings 7.3-9.5 mm long, auriculate, keel 8.5-10.2 mm long, not beaked, not auriculate, glabrous. Stamens ten; anthers 0.5-0.7 mm long, at two different levels (filaments alternately long and short), 5.6-7.5 mm long. Ovary stipitate, glabrous; style 7-8 mm long, glabrous, not bearded, terete. Fruit indehiscent and not splitting into sections, 30-45 mm long, 4-5 mm wide, stipitate, constricted between the seeds, flat or compressed, glabrous, not beaked. Flowers in March, April, May, June, August and October. Occurs in the Northern and Eremaean Botanical Province, in the Great Sandy Desert, Carnarvon, Gascoyne, Little Sandy Desert, Gibson Desert, Murchison, Northern Kimberley, Victoria Bonaparte, Central Kimberley, Ord-Victorian-Plain and Dampierland IBRA regions.

© Copyright 2021. All rights reserved.

Key and descriptions created using Lucid Builder v4 -

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 18 February 2022


IBRA Regions
Carnarvon, Central Kimberley, Dampierland, Gascoyne, Gibson Desert, Great Sandy Desert, Little Sandy Desert, Murchison, Northern Kimberley, Ord Victoria Plain, Pilbara, Victoria Bonaparte.
IBRA Subregions
Ashburton, Augustus, Berkeley, Cape Range, Chichester, Dune Field, Fitzroy Trough, Fortescue, Hamersley, Hart, Keep, Lateritic Plain, Mackay, McLarty, Mitchell, Pentecost, Pindanland, Purnululu, Roebourne, Rudall, Western Murchison, Wooramel.
IMCRA Regions
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Ashburton, Broome, Carnarvon, Derby-West Kimberley, East Pilbara, Halls Creek, Karratha, Meekatharra, Upper Gascoyne, Wiluna, Wyndham-East Kimberley.