Isotropis forrestii F.Muell.
S.Sci.Rec. 2:252 (1882)

Conservation Code: Priority One
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Grazyna Paczkowska, Thursday 20 June 1996

Erect shrub, 0.4-1.5 m high. Fl. yellow/orange & red, Apr to Sep or Dec. Stony clay loam, sandy alluvium. Along drainage lines.


Beard’s Provinces: Eremaean Province.

IBRA Regions: Carnarvon, Gascoyne, Pilbara.

IBRA Subregions: Ashburton, Augustus, Hamersley, Wooramel.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Ashburton, Carnarvon, Meekatharra, Upper Gascoyne.

Scientific Description
C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, Friday 17 January 2020

Prostrate,spreading or scrambling, shrub, spindly shrub (broom-like) or herb. Stems terete, not spiny, glabrous; pustules or glands absent. Leaves or phylloclades clearly present, simple, alternate, continuous with stem, 12-40 mm long, 2-6 mm wide, glabrous, flat with flat margins; margins entire; tubercles absent; pustules or glands absent. Stipules present and persistent to older leaves, 2.8 mm long, without glands, ribless. Pedicel present, 8 mm long, hairy. Bracteoles present and persistent, 1 mm long, glabrous, not striate. Calyx 7.5-10 mm long, not accrescent, hairy, with simple hairs, ribless; pustules or glands absent. Corolla 12.5-14 mm long, uniformly coloured, orange; claws absent; standard 9.5-10 mm long, glabrous, not auriculate, wings 9-9.8 mm long, not auriculate, keel 9.5-11 mm long, not beaked, not auriculate, glabrous. Stamens ten; anthers 0.7-1.5 mm long, at two different levels (filaments alternately long and short); filaments free (or united at the very base), 8.6-9.2 mm long. Ovary sessile or subsessile, hairy or glandular; style 10.6-11 mm long, hairy or glandular towards the base, not bearded, terete. Fruit dehiscent (a pod or follicle), 20-24 mm long, 7-12 mm wide, sessile or subsessile, not constricted between the seeds, round in cross-section, hairy, with simple hairs, not beaked. Flowers in April, May, June, July, August, September and December. Occurs in the Eremaean Botanical Province, in the Pilbara, Carnarvon, Gascoyne, Little Sandy Desert, Yalgoo and Murchison IBRA regions. Conservation Code Priority One (P1).