Swainsona beasleyana F.Muell.

Australas.Chem.Druggist 2:84 (1887)
Conservation Code
Not threatened
Naturalised Status
Native to Western Australia
Name Status

Procumbent perennial, herb, to 0.2 m high. Fl. purple-blue-pink, Aug to Sep. Red sandy or gravelly loam soils.

Grazyna Paczkowska, Descriptive Catalogue, 5 August 1996

Scientific Description

Prostrate,spreading or scrambling, herb. Stems flattened, not spiny, glabrous; pustules or glands absent. Leaves or phylloclades clearly present, compound, alternate, not continuous with stem, 55-150 mm long, hairy, with simple hairs, flat with flat margins; margins entire; tubercles absent, leaflets 13-27, pinnately arranged, terminal leaflet present, stalked; pustules or glands absent. Stipules present and persistent to older leaves. Pedicel present, 5-6 mm long, hairy. Bracteoles present and persistent. Calyx 8-10 mm long, not accrescent, hairy, with simple hairs, ribless; pustules or glands absent. Corolla 23.5-28.5 mm long, multicoloured, mostly pink, purple or blue, with some pink, purple or blue spots, streaks or blotches; claws present; standard 22-28 mm long, glabrous, not auriculate, wings 14-17 mm long, auriculate, keel 20-26 mm long, auriculate, glabrous. Stamens ten; anthers 1-1.1 mm long, at two different levels (filaments alternately long and short); filaments united in an open sheath with one free stamen, 14-17 mm long. Ovary stipitate, hairy or glandular; style 23-28 mm long, hairy or glandular towards the base, bearded (with a tuft of hairs at apex), flattened at apex. Fruit dehiscent (a pod or follicle), stipitate, not constricted between the seeds, round in cross-section, not beaked. Flowers in August and September. Occurs in the Eremaean and South-West Botanical Province, in the Carnarvon, Yalgoo, Murchison, Great Victorian Desert, Coolgardie, Nullarbor and Avon Wheatbelt IBRA regions.

C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, 4 December 2020


IBRA Regions
Avon Wheatbelt, Carnarvon, Coolgardie, Great Victoria Desert, Murchison, Nullarbor, Yalgoo.
IBRA Subregions
Carlisle, Eastern Goldfield, Eastern Murchison, Merredin, Shield, Tallering, Western Murchison, Wooramel.
Local Government Areas (LGAs)
Carnarvon, Coolgardie, Cue, Dalwallinu, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Leonora, Meekatharra, Menzies, Mount Magnet, Mukinbudin, Sandstone, Yalgoo.