Lawrencia densiflora (Baker f.) Melville
Kew Bull. 20:514 (1966)

Conservation Code: Not threatened
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Grazyna Paczkowska, Monday 23 September 1996

Ascending perennial, herb, 0.07-0.6 m high. Fl. white-green/yellow-cream, Jul to Oct. Sandy or clayey soils, limestone. Saline depressions, dry watercourses, claypans, limestone & gypsum ridges.


Beard’s Provinces: Eremaean Province.

IBRA Regions: Carnarvon, Gascoyne, Little Sandy Desert, Murchison, Pilbara, Yalgoo.

IBRA Subregions: Ashburton, Augustus, Cape Range, Carnegie, Chichester, Eastern Murchison, Edel, Fortescue, Hamersley, Rudall, Trainor, Western Murchison, Wooramel.

IMCRA Regions: Ningaloo, Shark Bay.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Ashburton, Carnarvon, Cue, East Pilbara, Exmouth, Laverton, Leonora, Meekatharra, Murchison, Port Hedland, Sandstone, Shark Bay, Upper Gascoyne, Wiluna.

Scientific Description
C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, Wednesday 15 January 2020

Shrub. Stems hairy. Leaves 10-40 mm long, 5-20 mm wide, irregularly lobed, simply (once-)lobed; margins entire; indumentum present, with stellate hairs; stipules present and persistent to older leaves, 10-25 mm long. Perianth clearly of two whorls (calyx and corolla), the corolla obvious and prominent. Pedicel absent (flower sessile) or present, 0.5 mm long; indumentum present, with stellate hairs. Epicalyx (extra segments or 'bracteoles' immediately below the calyx) absent, indumentum present, stellate hairs present. Calyx 4-4.6 mm long, the lobes fused half or more of their length, stellate hairs present. Corolla yellow, white, cream or green, 3-3.6 mm long, glabrous. Stamens many, united and arising from a staminal tube around the style; filaments present, 1.5 mm long; anthers 0.3 mm long. Ovary hairs and scales absent (ovary quite glabrous); style 1, 3.2-4.2 mm long, with one or numerous style branches or lobes, mostly glabrous. Flowering time July, August, September or October. Distribution Botanical Province Eremaean, IBRA Bioregion Pilbara, Carnarvon, Gascoyne, Little Sandy Desert, Yalgoo or Murchison.