Dampiera lindleyi de Vriese
Lehm., Pl.Preiss. 1:402 (1845)

Conservation Code: Not threatened
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Amanda Spooner, Tuesday 8 February 2000

Erect to semi-prostrate, woody perennial, herb, 0.2-0.7 m high, with flattened stems. Fl. blue/blue-purple, Jun to Oct. Sand, sandy clay, gravel. Undulating plains, rocky outcrops.


Beard’s Provinces: Eremaean Province, South-West Province.

IBRA Regions: Avon Wheatbelt, Esperance Plains, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Swan Coastal Plain, Yalgoo.

IBRA Subregions: Avon Wheatbelt P1, Avon Wheatbelt P2, Dandaragan Plateau, Edel, Geraldton Hills, Lesueur Sandplain, Northern Jarrah Forest, Recherche, Southern Jarrah Forest.

IMCRA Regions: Leeuwin-Naturaliste.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Beverley, Broomehill-Tambellup, Busselton, Carnamah, Chapman Valley, Chittering, Coorow, Cuballing, Dandaragan, Dowerin, Esperance, Gingin, Greater Geraldton, Irwin, Mingenew, Moora, Mundaring, Narrogin, Northampton, Pingelly, Quairading, Shark Bay, Three Springs, Victoria Plains, Wagin, Wickepin, Williams, Wongan-Ballidu.

Scientific Description
C. Hollister and K.R. Thiele, Tuesday 26 May 2020

Stems unribbed. Leaves flat, 15-35 mm long, 5-10 mm wide, Indumentum absent (leaves glabrous); margins entire. Bracteoles absent. Pedicellate, Pedicel length the pedicels 4-10 mm long, hairy, with simple hairs. Calyx lobes present, Calyx length 0.3 mm long, glabrous, with dense. Corolla blue or violet, 12-16 mm long, auriculate, not spurred, hairy on the outside, with dense, simple hairs, glabrous on the inside; central lobes 7-10 mm long, with wings; outer lobes 8-10.5 mm long, wing present on both sides and clearly unequal, 0.2-0.3 mm wide on the narrower side, 2.5-3 mm wide on the broader side. Anthers connate. Ovary inferior, gibbous; style 5-5.7 mm long, glabrous; indusium single, glabrous; ovules one or two. Flowers in June, July, August, September and October. Occurs in the Yalgoo (YAL), Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Swan Coastal Plain (SWA), Avon Wheatbelt (AW), Jarrah Forest (JF) and Esperance Plains (ESP) IBRA Region(s), of the Eremaean (E) and South West (SW) Botanical Province.