Dampiera wellsiana F.Muell. Wells' Dampiera
Fragm. 10:12 (1876)

Conservation Code: Not threatened
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Amanda Spooner, Tuesday 8 February 2000

Tufted perennial, herb, 0.05-0.25(-0.4) m high, leaves glabrous. Fl. blue, Aug to Dec or Jan. Sandy & clayey soils, gravel, laterite. Undulating plains.


Beard’s Provinces: Eremaean Province, South-West Province.

IBRA Regions: Avon Wheatbelt, Coolgardie, Geraldton Sandplains, Mallee, Murchison, Yalgoo.

IBRA Subregions: Avon Wheatbelt P1, Avon Wheatbelt P2, Eastern Mallee, Eastern Murchison, Edel, Geraldton Hills, Lesueur Sandplain, Southern Cross, Tallering, Western Mallee, Western Murchison.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Bruce Rock, Coolgardie, Coorow, Corrigin, Cunderdin, Dalwallinu, Dowerin, Dumbleyung, Dundas, Esperance, Greater Geraldton, Kellerberrin, Kondinin, Koorda, Kulin, Lake Grace, Merredin, Moora, Morawa, Mount Marshall, Mukinbudin, Murchison, Narembeen, Northampton, Nungarin, Perenjori, Quairading, Tammin, Three Springs, Westonia, Wiluna, Wongan-Ballidu, Wyalkatchem, Yalgoo, Yilgarn.

Scientific Description
Chris Hollister and Kevin Thiele, Tuesday 5 March 2019

Stems unribbed. Leaves flat, 20-130 mm long, 5-40 mm wide, absent (leaves glabrous) or hairy, with sparse, present hairs; margins entire or toothed. Bracteoles present, 5-6 mm long, hairy, with simple hairs. Presence absent (flowers sessile), hairy, with simple hairs. Calyx lobes absent. Corolla blue, 9-13 mm long, auriculate, not spurred, hairy on the outside, with dense, simple, glandular hairs, glabrous on the inside; central lobes 2.5-5.8 mm long, with wings; outer lobes 4.5-6 mm long, wings present on both sides, 0.5-0.7 mm wide. Anthers connate. Ovary inferior, not gibbose; style 2.3-2.6 mm long, glabrous; indusium single, glabrous; ovules one or two. Flowers in January, August, September, October, November and December. Occurs in the Yalgoo (YAL), Murchison (MUR), Coolgardie (COO), Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Avon Wheatbelt (AW) and Mallee (MAL) IBRA Region(s), of the Eremaean (E) and South West (SW) Botanical Province.