Lechenaultia formosa R.Br. Red Leschenaultia
Prodr. 581 (1810)

Conservation Code: Not threatened
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Grazyna Paczkowska, Tuesday 19 March 1996

Prostrate to erect shrub, 0.02-0.4 m high. Fl. red/red & yellow/red & orange/cream, May to Nov. Sand over laterite or granite, clay, gravelly clay. Outcrops, gullies, flats.


Beard’s Provinces: Eremaean Province, South-West Province.

IBRA Regions: Avon Wheatbelt, Coolgardie, Esperance Plains, Geraldton Sandplains, Jarrah Forest, Mallee.

IBRA Subregions: Avon Wheatbelt P1, Avon Wheatbelt P2, Eastern Mallee, Fitzgerald, Lesueur Sandplain, Northern Jarrah Forest, Recherche, Southern Cross, Southern Jarrah Forest, Western Mallee.

IMCRA Regions: WA South Coast.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Albany, Beverley, Boyup Brook, Bridgetown-Greenbushes, Broomehill-Tambellup, Carnamah, Coorow, Cranbrook, Cuballing, Dumbleyung, Dundas, Esperance, Gnowangerup, Goomalling, Jerramungup, Kellerberrin, Kent, Kojonup, Kondinin, Lake Grace, Narembeen, Narrogin, Plantagenet, Ravensthorpe, Victoria Plains, West Arthur, Wickepin, Williams, Woodanilling.

Scientific Description
Chris Hollister and Kevin Thiele, Tuesday 29 August 2017

Stems unribbed. Leaves compressed, 3-14 mm long, 0.4-1 mm wide, absent (leaves glabrous); margins entire. Bracteoles absent. Flowers Presence pedicellate, the pedicels 5-7 mm long, glabrous. Calyx lobes present, Calyx length 4.5-5.8 mm long, glabrous. Corolla red, 13-20 mm long, without auricles, not spurred, glabrous on the outside, glabrous on the inside; central lobes 6-9.5 mm long, with wings; outer lobes 6-10 mm long, wings present on both sides, 0.1-0.2 mm wide. Anthers free. Ovary inferior, not gibbose; style 11-13 mm long, hairy; indusium single, hairy; ovules more than two. Flowers in May, June, July, August, September and October. Occurs in the Coolgardie (COO), Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Jarrah Forest (JF), Mallee (MAL) and Esperance Plains (ESP) IBRA Region(s), of the Eremaean (E) and South West (SW) Botanical Province.