Grevillea brachystylis subsp. australis Keighery
Nuytsia 7:128 (1990)

Browse to the list of specimens for Grevillea brachystylis subsp. australis Keighery

Conservation Code: Threatened Flora (Declared Rare Flora — Extant)
Naturalised Status: Native to Western Australia
Name Status: Current

Brief Description
Grazyna Paczkowska, Friday 4 August 1995

Prostrate or erect, non-lignotuberous shrub, 0.1-2 m high. Fl. red, Sep to Dec or Jan. Sand, sandy clay. Swampy situations, stream banks.

Photo of Grevillea brachystylis subsp. australis Keighery



Beard’s Provinces: South-West Province.

IBRA Regions: Jarrah Forest, Warren.

IBRA Subregions: Southern Jarrah Forest, Warren.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Augusta-Margaret River, Nannup.

Scientific Description
Chris Hollister and Nicholas S. Lander, Tuesday 8 April 2008

Habit and leaf form. Shrubs, 0.1–2 m high. Branchlets not glaucous. Leaves simple, 70–120 mm long overall. Leaf blade 5–10 mm wide, undissected, flat, obovate or linear. Margins entire, recurved. Hairs straight.

Inflorescence and floral features. Inflorescence axillary, or terminal; a raceme. Flowers red, very irregular. Pedicel 4–5 mm long. Perianth 6–12 mm long, simple-hairy, 4 -partite; lobes free and joined (united to form a tube, split on one side). Stamens 4. Pistil 7–9 mm long, stipitate; stipe 2–2.5 mm long. Ovary hairy. Styles hairy, red or blue. Pollen presenter lateral.

Fruit features. Fruit ovoid, simple hairy, not viscid, 12–17 mm long.

Flowering Time. July, or August, or September, or October, or November.

Habitat. Amongst medium trees, or low trees; in gravelly soil, or sand, or clay; occupying swamps.

Distribution. Western Australia. Western Australian Botanical Province(s): South-west; IBRA Bioregions SW: JF and WAR. Western Australian native; endemic to Western Australia.

Etymology. brachystylis subsp. australis (L): australis southern, an allusion to the more southerly distribution of this taxon.

Descriptions were generated using DELTA format and DELTA software: Dallwitz (1980) and Dallwitz, Paine and Zurcher (1993 onwards, 1995 onwards, 1998)